Tags

, , ,

Well, you, my Twitter friend, must know all too well the way our theist friends are continuously asking of us to prove god’s non-existence, so my response to one of those requests got retweeted like forever:

Like always, this is the original Twitter link.

Someone pointed me to Ricky Gervais’ response to this claim:

❝It annoys me that the burden of proof is on us. It should be: “You came up with the idea. Why do you believe it?” I could tell you I’ve got superpowers, but you can’t go up to people saying “Prove I can’t fly.” They’d go: “What do you mean ‘Prove you can’t fly’? Prove you can!”❞

Ricky is right, but I would go a little bit further, and if someone told me “prove I can’t fly”, I would go and push them off a cliff. Err.. no, no, I wouldn’t. Of course it is a totally hypothetical situation – I wouldn’t push anyone off a cliff. I promise! Geez!

The thing is I totally could prove that someone cannot fly, see? That’s the point. I could prove it! Well, not to him, though. But I’m sure you get the idea.

So Ricky’s is a nice, clever response, but in my opinion, doesn’t really meet the god’s non-existence kind of proof standard.

Have you come up with a better answer for this request? Tell us down here in the comments. I’m dying to hear your responses.

