Tags

, , ,

Judgement Day Billboard

It is beyond my understanding how someone like Harold Camping can convince so many gullible people into believing that he’s been able to figure out the exact date of the rapture, via some calculations based on some numbers in the bible.

Just before the flood Noah was instructed by God that in seven days the flood would begin (Genesis 7:10-16). Using the language of 2 Peter 3:8 that “a day is as a thousand years,” it is like saying through Noah, who was a preacher (2 Peter 2:5): “mankind has seven days or 7,000 years to escape destruction.” Since 2011 A.D. is precisely 7,000 years after Noah preached, God has given mankind a wonderful proof that Judgment Day will occur in the year 2011.

Now, kill me for not having done a good job searching for a provided time zone, I mean, when everyone is expecting to be raptured on this side of the world, it’s gonna be the 22nd in Australia, right?

Let me quote Camping’s exact words on this interview:

“There is just no reason in the world, no possibility that it [“it” being the rapture] will not happen”

Nonsense.

How in the world can he say these things with such certainty, especially when he has predicted this event before, with the obviously known results. “It” did not happen.

The most appalling thing is all these believers are Christians, who base their own beliefs on the scriptures, yes, the bible. The same bible Camping used to come up with a calculated date. But I bet you didn’t count on me having a tweet for that, huh?

Twitter link

Exactly. The bible says, “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” Matthew 24:36 Look it up. Yes, really. It is in the same book you hold up when you yell hideous things at gay people.

That’s the problem when you think critically, it’s not about bashing Christianity, or its followers. To me it is only logical that you look up your own source of enslavement knowledge, before even starting to make plans for the end of the world.

I’m sorry, Christians, but you can’t square this circle. What your fear and faith in Judgement Day tells me is that you think Harold Camping is god, in which case I don’t see why you’re not all hunting him down and asking for clarification.

This is when I ask, sarcastically, I must specify, where is the harm?

The harm is that irrational fear leads people to do the stupidest things. Like this suicidal woman calling to Family Radio, “What should I do Mr. Camping? I am so nervous, I am not a Christian I know I do not live right, what should I do.. Maybe I should kill myself? Mr.Camping.. Maybe I should kill myself.” Just to cite one of them, because it is related and relevant. Also, let me point out that the author of this post failed to provide evidence of this occurrence, but take in consideration that she herself is a Christian.

Also, I read somewhere about a man and a woman who have given up all their possessions. They have two kids, and another one due in June. So, how this family is going to survive having given everything away, is one tough question. But a more puzzling question is, what happens to that unborn baby? I mean, it needs to be baptized to be saved, right? Actually, I was just now having this conversation about original sin with my friend Marty, who thinks people are conceived sinful, and I think they are born sinful. But I digress.

I might have to go more in depth about the harms of irrational beliefs on another post, but here’s a really good example of the issues that concern me, and should concern you, too.

So I want to make a deal with you, Christians. Can I make a deal with you, please?

I don’t want your money, and I certainly won’t volunteer to walk your dog. What I want of you is to reason and think about this faith thing. This is a win-win. I promise. Hear me out.

If the Crapture Rapture does happen, well, we’ll have nothing more to talk about, actually, we won’t be given the chance, will we? But if it doesn’t happen, then you will commit to do three things:

  • Read the bible in its entirety, and question all the dates, and sources of the scripture; and instead of justifying its contradictionsfaulty laws, and dubious morality, I encourage you to start reasoning.
  • Support science and critical thinking. I’m not asking you to become an atheist, I’m asking you to stop accepting unquestionable truths –  there’s not such thing.
  • Ask your pastor the questions that you have asked yourself, and if you haven’t, then you should!

What say you, dear Christians, are you game?

